Do You Take Irish Whiskey or Scotch Whisky With Your Bath?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

“Not even the touch on the skin of the delicious breeze heralding the arrival of summer, nor caressing a woman’s body, nor sipping Scotch whiskey in the bathtub until the water goes cold, in short, no other pleasure Wells could think of gave him a greater sense of well being than when he added the final full stop to a novel.”  From The Map of Time by Felix J Palma

I accidentally bought Irish Whiskey.  Incidentally, Felix J. Palma got his whiskey and whisky mixed up anyway, so I don’t feel so badly that I bought the wrong one.  It was interesting to have it in the bath.

This last post will close out my forays into British food.  My next project will be more economically feasible and should allow me to post more often.  I’m going to read Grapes of Wrath and cook my take on depression-era, low budget foods that should help folks stretch things a bit father in the kitchen.  No, I will not be making butter by adding yellow food coloring to lard and I won’t be making spaghetti sauce out of ketchup.  These will, for the most part, be my own ideas and recipes that fed me through the lean years of college and made those short pay check months a little more bearable.

2 Comments

Filed under Cooking and Reading

2 responses to “Do You Take Irish Whiskey or Scotch Whisky With Your Bath?

  1. 😉 i prefer a nice white wine. BUT i totally get it. i LOVE my wine and bath!

  2. Thanks, Darla! I’m not much of a whiskey drinker myself, but it just sounded so romantic (in the sense of Byron’s and Shelley’s Romanticism) to imagine H.G. Wells sipping whiskey and crafting The Time Machine in his head, while lingering in the tub… I had to give it a shot. Splurging on a higher end whiskey helped some too.

Leave a Reply

