Breaded Pork Chops You Could Eat Your Way Outta

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

“If I was rich, if I was rich I’d git so many pork chops—I’d cord ’em up aroun’ me like wood, an’ I’d eat my way out.” From the Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck

You know you’ve been truly hungry when the thought of being rich just makes you think about food instead of cars, clothes, or traveling to exotic places.

Breaded Pork Chops

3 bone in pork chops (because they were in my freezer from when they were on sale)

1/4 cup bread crumbs

1/4 cup flour

A little smear of cold bacon grease reserved from the last time I cooked it

Melt the bacon grease in the pan.  While it’s heating up, dredge the chops through the flour and breadcrumb mixture.  Cook over medium heat for about 3 minutes on each side until golden brown and cooked through. 

I served mine with some leftover emergency mac and cheese (also topped with breadcrumbs for comfort food purposes) and steamed brussels sprouts.  I think the bacon grease made it more delicious than ever.

2 Comments

Filed under Books, Cheaper Cooking, Cooking and Reading, Food, Grapes of Wrath, John Steinbeck, Literature, Recipes, The Great Depression

2 responses to “Breaded Pork Chops You Could Eat Your Way Outta

  1. My son was looking at this post and asking “mom, when can you make pork chops again?” LOL!! I will have to try this, I’ve never fried them in bacon grease, for some stupid reason it’s never even occured to me. Ty for the inspiration!

  2. Thanks for stopping by. I never would have thought about bacon grease either if I hadn’t been reading “Grapes of Wrath” and trying to find as many ways to save money as possible. A project like that one really opened my eyes. I’d love to hear how yours comes out if you try it!

Leave a Reply

