Summer of Salad – Guacamole

1 avocado
About 1/8th of a red onion, finely diced
1 clove of garlic, finely diced
1 jalapeno, deveined, deseeded, and finely diced
Romaine lettuce
1 small tomato, chopped
Black beans
Shredded cheddar
Salt to taste

Mash the avocado and mix in the onion, garlic, and jalapeno, then salt to taste. Layer the other salad ingredients on a plate and top with a healthy dollop of guac.

Three are all kinds of ways to make guacamole. If anyone  has alternative recipes, I’d love for you to share them. With the little addition of jalapenos, I make mine the same way my friend Chanel taught me to almost 10 years ago.

2 Comments

Filed under Cheaper Cooking, Cheese, Cooking and Reading, Recipes, Salad

2 responses to “Summer of Salad – Guacamole

  1. I love guacamole! My parents go to a really fun restaurant where they even make it at your table in front of you!

  2. I’ve had that in restaurants before as well; freshly made guacamole is the only way to go. I don’t know how people can stand to buy the prepackaged kind. I find it terrifying!

Leave a Reply

