Pistachios and an Amateur Private Eye Goes Under Cover

“A spread of meze, bowls of pistachio nuts and the famous Yildiz börek had been prepared. There was also an enormous bowl of salad. I took a handful of pistachios.”  – From The Prophet Murders by Mehmet Murat Somer (Kenneth Dakan, transl.)

I am jumping ahead a bit in the story line and I don’t want to give too much away, but our drag queen hero has gone undercover to catch the killer and he finds himself being lead astray by both the wine and the snacks provided at dinner.

I have not blogged in a really long time.  I came back to work and got overwhelmed.  Then I had a Phyllo disaster and got discouraged.  This is just a meze for the real blog (Adventures in Phyllo – a Lament and a Laudatory Salute), which will be published tomorrow.

A note about pistachios:  They are delicious.  I don’t usually have squirrel-like tendencies; I don’t keep nuts around to snack on.  I kind of forget that nuts make a tasty snack.  Pistachios really are a great appetizer.  I got the roasted and salted variety, in the shell.  They were just salty enough to whet the appetite.  I didn’t eat a “handful” because I was saving myself for Pogaca (more to come on that later).

Leave a comment

Filed under Cheese, Food, Recipes, Turkish Food

Leave a Reply

