Another Break from Moroccan for a Quick Bresaola Update

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The meat has been removed from the fridge and rinsed of its cure.  It weighed in at 1.29 kg.  It’s new home is in a cotton muslin bag hung from a hook in my cupboard.  I have placed a dish of salted water in there to keep the humidity up and there the meat shall live for the next three weeks.  I will check it occasionally for bad mold (green) and encourage it grow good mold (dry, not fuzzy white).  And I will take my first taste once it has lost about a third of its weight and feels firm, but slices “silky smooth.”

FYI:  this is not a recipe I’m ok with winging.  I’m very carefully following Charcuterie by Michael Ruhlman and Brian Polcyn.  I am not willing to take any chances when it comes to uncooked meat that’s been under my cupboard for 3 weeks…

Leave a comment

Filed under Food, Home Cured Meat, Recipes

Leave a Reply

